Sunday, April 6, 2014

If You Like Orson Scott Card ...



The recent release of Ender’s Game, a movie adaptation of the first book in the Ender Wiggins series by Orson Scott Card, has sparked  new interest in the series. The first two books in the series (Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead) each won both the Hugo and Nebula awards. See Orson Scott Card's website for more information.

Andrew “Ender” Wiggins is a young boy who is sent to “battle school” to learn how to fight aliens, who invaded Earth in the past, using virtual war games. He faces many mental, physical and emotional challenges, both at home and at “battle school.”

The books may be read in either publication or chronological order. Here is a chronological list for reading the series in order with publication dates:

1. Ender's Game (1985)
2. Ender's Shadow (1999)
3. A War of Gifts (2007)
4. Shadow of the Hegemon (2000)
5. Shadow Puppets (2002)
6. Shadow of the Giant (2003)
7. Ender in Exile (2008)
8. Shadows in Flight (2012)
9. First Meetings (2002)
10. Speaker for the Dead (1986)
11. Xenocide (1991)
12. Children of the Mind (1996)

If you would like to read the prequels to Ender’s Game, here is a series called The First Formic Wars, also by Orson Scott Card:

1. Earth Unaware (2012)
2. Earth Afire (2013)
3. Earth Awakens (June 2014)

If you like Orson Scott Card’s books, you might like the following books and authors. Please note that some are considered crossover Young Adult / Adult novels:

M. T. Anderson – Feed
Isaac Asimov - Foundation Trilogy
Ray Bradbury - Fahrenheit 451
Terry Brooks - Shannara Trilogy
Ernest Cline – Ready Player One
Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games
James Dashner – The Maze Runner
Cory Doctorow – Little Brother
Tim Eldred – Grease Monkey
Sylvia Engdahl - Elana Series
Nancy Farmer – The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm
Joe Haldeman - Forever Series
Johan Harstad – 172 Hours on the Moon
Robert A. Heinlein – Starship Troopers
Robert A. Heinlein -  Have Space Suit – Will Travel
Frank Herbert - Dune Series
Robert Jordan - Wheel of Time Series
Conor Kostick – Epic Series
Lois Lowry – The Giver Quartet
John Marsden – Tomorrow, When the War Began
Larry Niven - Ringworld Series
John Scalzi – Old Man’s War
Dan Simmons - Hyperion Series
William Sleator – Interstellar Pig
Dom Testa – Galahad Series
David Weber – Honor Harrington Series
Scott Westerfeld – Uglies Trilogy
Richard Yancey – The 5th Wave
Timothy Zahn – Quadrail Series

Happy Reading!

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.

No comments:

Post a Comment