Sunday, April 27, 2014

If You Like ... Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin



The epic HBO TV series Game of Thrones, based on the Song of Ice and Fire book series by George R. R. Martin, has elicited great reaction from readers and viewers alike. Both the book and television show series provide a wonderful mix of science fiction, fantasy, drama, adventure, and intrigue. The author also provides a broad range of characters, scenes, and plots, which keep the readers and viewers anxious for more. For more about the book series, see this article “George R. R. Martin Read-Alikes: Why Readers Love This Author.”

Here is a list of the book series in order:
A Dance with Dragons

Also of note:

If you like Game of Thrones, you might like to read the following:

Marion Zimmer Bradley – Avalon Series
Terry Brooks – The Sword of Shannara
Lois McMaster Bujold – Falling Free
Edgar Rice Burroughs – John Carter of Mars Series
Jacqueline Carey – Sundering Series
Caleb Carr – The Legend of the Broken
Bernard Cornwell – The Winter King
Alison Croggon – The Naming
Stephen R. Donaldson – Lord Foul’s Bane
David Drake – Lord of the Isles Series
Maurice Druon – The Iron King
David Anthony Durham – Acacia Trilogy
Anna Easter Smith – The King’s Grace
David Eddings – The Pawn of Prophecy
David Farland – The Runelords Series
Raymond E. Feist – Flight of the Nighthawks and Riftwar Series
Ken Follett – The Pillars of the Earth
Terry Goodkind – Wizard’s First Rule
Robert Graves – I, Claudius
Barbara Hambly – Dragonsbane
Frank Herbert – Dune Series
Robin Hobb – Farseer Trilogy and Liveship Traders
Cecelia Holland – The Angel and the Sword
Robert Jordan – The Wheel of Time Series
Guy Gabriel Kay – Tigana
Robin LaFevers – Grave Mercy
Ursula LeGuin – A Wizard of Earthsea
C. S. Lewis – The Chronicles of Narnia
Jennifer A. Nielsen – The False Prince
Naomi Novik – Temeraire Series
Sharon Kay Penman – Here Be Dragons
Terry Pratchett – Raising Steam
Morgan Rhodes – Falling Kingdoms
Patrick Rothfuss – The Wise Man’s Fear
Brandon Sanderson – The Way of Kings and Mistborn
Neal Stephenson – Baroque Cycle and Anathem
J. R. R. Tolkien – The Lord of the Rings
Harry Turtledove – Darkness Series
Tad Williams – The Dragonbone Chair and Shadowmarch Series
Roger Zelazny – Chronicles of Amber


Happy Reading!

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter (Kiddosphere twitter is here) or online.

No comments:

Post a Comment