Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Best Seller Lists








New York Times 4/27/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. The Collector, by Nora Roberts
2. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
3. I’ve Got You Under My Skin, by Mary Higgins Clark
4. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
5. Keep Quiet, by Lisa Scottoline
6. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
7. Carnal Curiosity, by Stuart Woods
8. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
9. Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn
10. The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty
11. Sycamore Row, by John Grisham
12. The King, by J. R. Ward
13. Be Careful What You Wish For, by Jeffrey Archer
14. Frog Music, by Emma Donoghue
15. The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, by Gabrielle Zevin

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Flash Boys, by Michael Lewis
2. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington
3. Players First, by John Calipari & Michael Sokolove
4. The Divide, by Matt Taibbi
5. 10% Happier, by Dan Harris
6. Killing Jesus, by Bill O’Reilly
7. Face the Music, by Paul Stanley
8. The Confidence Code, by Katty Kay & Claire Shipman
9. The Opposite of Loneliness, by Marina Keegan
10. Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg
11. David and Goliath, by Malcolm Gladwell
12. Uganda Be Kidding Me, by Chelsea Handler
13. A Call to Action, by Jimmy Carter
14. Creativity, Inc., by Ed Catmull with Amy Wallace
15. Capital in the Twenty-First Century, by Thomas Piketty

Washington Post 4/27/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. The Collector, by Nora Roberts
2. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
3. I’ve Got You Under My Skin, by Mary Higgins Clark
4. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
5. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
6. Carnal Curiosity, by Stuart Woods
7. Keep Quiet, by Lisa Scottoline
8. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
9. You Should Have Known, by Jean Hanff Korelitz
10. Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Flash Boys, by Michael Lewis
2. The Confidence Code, by Katty Kay & Claire Shipman
3. Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young
4. Breakout, by Newt Gingrich
5. Scaling Up Excellence, by Robert I. Sutton & Huggy Rao
6. Strengths Finder 2.0, by Tom Rath
7. The Divide, by Matt Taibbi
8. The Blood Sugar Solution, by Mark Hyman
9. Killing Jesus, by Bill O’Reilly
10. Finding Your Element, by Ken Robinson & Lou Aronica

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter (Kiddosphere twitter is hereor online.

Sunday, April 27, 2014

If You Like ... Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin



The epic HBO TV series Game of Thrones, based on the Song of Ice and Fire book series by George R. R. Martin, has elicited great reaction from readers and viewers alike. Both the book and television show series provide a wonderful mix of science fiction, fantasy, drama, adventure, and intrigue. The author also provides a broad range of characters, scenes, and plots, which keep the readers and viewers anxious for more. For more about the book series, see this article “George R. R. Martin Read-Alikes: Why Readers Love This Author.”

Here is a list of the book series in order:
A Dance with Dragons

Also of note:

If you like Game of Thrones, you might like to read the following:

Marion Zimmer Bradley – Avalon Series
Terry Brooks – The Sword of Shannara
Lois McMaster Bujold – Falling Free
Edgar Rice Burroughs – John Carter of Mars Series
Jacqueline Carey – Sundering Series
Caleb Carr – The Legend of the Broken
Bernard Cornwell – The Winter King
Alison Croggon – The Naming
Stephen R. Donaldson – Lord Foul’s Bane
David Drake – Lord of the Isles Series
Maurice Druon – The Iron King
David Anthony Durham – Acacia Trilogy
Anna Easter Smith – The King’s Grace
David Eddings – The Pawn of Prophecy
David Farland – The Runelords Series
Raymond E. Feist – Flight of the Nighthawks and Riftwar Series
Ken Follett – The Pillars of the Earth
Terry Goodkind – Wizard’s First Rule
Robert Graves – I, Claudius
Barbara Hambly – Dragonsbane
Frank Herbert – Dune Series
Robin Hobb – Farseer Trilogy and Liveship Traders
Cecelia Holland – The Angel and the Sword
Robert Jordan – The Wheel of Time Series
Guy Gabriel Kay – Tigana
Robin LaFevers – Grave Mercy
Ursula LeGuin – A Wizard of Earthsea
C. S. Lewis – The Chronicles of Narnia
Jennifer A. Nielsen – The False Prince
Naomi Novik – Temeraire Series
Sharon Kay Penman – Here Be Dragons
Terry Pratchett – Raising Steam
Morgan Rhodes – Falling Kingdoms
Patrick Rothfuss – The Wise Man’s Fear
Brandon Sanderson – The Way of Kings and Mistborn
Neal Stephenson – Baroque Cycle and Anathem
J. R. R. Tolkien – The Lord of the Rings
Harry Turtledove – Darkness Series
Tad Williams – The Dragonbone Chair and Shadowmarch Series
Roger Zelazny – Chronicles of Amber


Happy Reading!

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter (Kiddosphere twitter is here) or online.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Spring Book Madness: Meet the Winner!

For five weeks, Fauquier County Public Library patrons have been voting for their favorite books. We started with 32 books, narrowing it down each week. The final match-up came down to Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte versus Notorious Nineteen by Janet Evanovich.

In a landslide, Jane Eyre was chosen by library patrons as their favorite book!

Jane Eyre clearly is an enduring classic, but how much do you know about the tale and its author?

Did you know?
  • Charlotte Bronte wrote the soon-to-be classic under the "manly" pseudonym Currer Bell.
  • Jane Eyre became the literary success of 1847, the same year in which it was published.
  • Born on April 21, 1816, Charlotte Bronte would have been 198 this year.  
  • Emily Bronte, Charlotte's sister, also published Wuthering Heights in 1847.
  • Penguin Classics list Jane Eyre as its Number 2 classic to read.
  • Jane Eyre is listed as one of the 1001 Books you must read before you die.
It's also available on the big and small screens.
  • There are 4 movie versions of Jane Eyre. 1934, 1943, 1996 and 2011
  • It also appeared as a made for TV movie in 1961, 1970 and 1997.
  • In the years, 1973, 1983 and 2006 Jane Eyre aired as a TV Mini Series.
Want to read more about the author? Check out Books & Authors, one of the premium resources available from the Literature and e-books section on our database page. Read book reviews, find information about Charlotte Bronte and search for similar books in the read a like section. Also check out Biography in Context, also available on our database page, under Encyclopedias & Reference.


We have lots of classics to choose from --  be sure to visit our website, any Fauquier County Public Library location or our online catalog to get started.

Thanks to everyone who voted and happy reading! 


To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.

Jody @ Warrenton Reference

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Best Seller Lists






New York Times 4/20/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. I’ve Got You Under My Skin, by Mary Higgins Clark
2. Keep Quiet, by Lisa Scottoline
3. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
4. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
5. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
6. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
7. The King, by J. R. Ward
8. In Paradise, by Peter Matthiessen
9. Miss Julia’s Marvelous Makeover, by Ann B. Ross
10. Be Careful What You Wish For, by Jeffrey Archer
11. The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty
12. Blossom Street Brides, by Debbie Macomber
13. By Its Cover, by Donna Leon
14. Frog Music, by Emma Donoghue

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Flash Boys, by Michael Lewis
2. Face the Music, by Paul Stanley
3. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington
4. Big Tent, by Mallory and Elizabeth Factor
5. 10% Happier, by Dan Harris
6. Killing Jesus, by Bill O’Reilly
7. Creativity, Inc., by Ed Catmull with Amy Wallace
8. The Divide, by Matt Taibbi
9. Love Life, by Rob Lowe
10. A Call to Action, by Jimmy Carter
11. The Opposite of Loneliness, by Marina Keegan
12. Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand
13. Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg
14. Living With a Wild God, by Barbara Ehrenreich
15. David and Goliath, by Malcolm Gladwell

Washington Post 4/20/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. I’ve Got You Under My Skin, by Mary Higgins Clark
2. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
3. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
4. Carnal Curiosity, by Stuart Woods
5. Keep Quiet, by Lisa Scottoline
6. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
7. Cauldron of Ghosts, by David Weber & Eric Flint
8. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
9. In Paradise, by Peter Matthiessen
10. Power Play, by Danielle Steel

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Flash Boys, by Michael Lewis
2. Strengths Finder 2.0, by Tom Rath
3. The Divide, by Matt Taibbi
4. Big Tent, by Mallory and Elizabeth Factor
5. How to Cook Like a Top Chef, by Emily Miller
6. The Curmudgeon’s Guide to Getting Ahead, by Charles Murray
7. My Paris Kitchen, by David Lebovitz
8. Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young
9. The Chopped Cookbook, by Food Network Kitchen
10. Face the Music, by Paul Stanley


To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

We Recommend: Staff Picks & Tips (April 2014)

You have probably seen them - "We Recommend" bookmarks poking from the pages of books here at the Fauquier County Public Library. Or perhaps, while checking out a book, you have leaned in and asked "Is there a book YOU recommend?" If either of these are familiar to you, then you know how great it is to get a recommendation for a good read from a member of library staff.

In fact, staff members are asked for their recommendations so frequently that last month, we asked our circulation staff to give us some of their favorite recommendations and published it here in Book Notes. It was so popular (and they had so much fun pulling them together!) that we are making it a regular Book Notes entry.  

Here goes: Staff Picks & Tips for April, 2014 

Julia in Warrenton enjoyed The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom, which reveals life on an early 1800’s tobacco plantation through the eyes of a young Irish immigrant, Lavinia. Orphaned while in route to Virginia, Lavinia must serve as an indentured servant under the care of plantation slaves. As she reaches the end of her servitude, she is eventually accepted into the “Big House."  She is forced to straddle two very different worlds while her love and loyalty remain in the kitchen house.

Maryellen often recommends A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn. Maryellen describes this book as “basically a romance set in 1920’s British Kenya, but with social and historical overtones. The characters are diverse and interesting. I love the author’s style of writing. Deanna Raybourn also writes a mystery series, but this is a stand-alone, at least for now."

Carol likes to recommend Giant George: Life with the World’s Biggest Dog by Dave Masser. This is a “sweet and funny” story of a 245 pound Great Dane who has appeared on Oprah and has his own global fan club.  

And for those interested in personal finance, Carol suggests The Frugalista Files: How One Woman Got Out of Debt Without Giving Up the Fabulous Life by Natalie McNeal. This book is “particularly enjoyable, clever and fun to read” while offering personal and professional advice. Another non-fiction recommendation from Carol is The Gift of an Ordinary Day by Katrina Kenison. Carol shares that it made her “really appreciate what is important in a mom’s life” as the author tells of her own appreciation of the little things as her children grew and left home.

From our biography shelf, Ellie recommends We Two: Victoria and Albert: Rulers, Partners, Rivals by Gillian Gill. Ellie describes Gill’s account of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert’s marriage as “beautifully written and a great pleasure to read." A must-read for historical readers who like royalty.

And here's a tip to help you stay informed about what new titles are being added to the library's collection: subscribe to Wowbrary to be notified weekly on books, CD's and audio resources new to the library's collection.

Psst - if you want to put a "face" with the recommendation, check out the staff photos from National Library Week here

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter (Kiddosphere twitter is here) or online.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

If You Like Lilian Jackson Braun ...

Lilian Jackson Braun (1913-2011) was celebrated for her immensely popular Cat Who Mystery Series. The characters, a former newspaper reporter named James Qwilleran, and his two Siamese cats, KoKo and Yum-Yum, solve crimes in these cozy, classic mysteries.

If you like Lilian Jackson Braun's lighthearted Cat Who Mystery Series, you may also enjoy these authors and titles:

Lydia Adamson  - Alice Nestleton Mystery series
Donna Andrews - Meg Langslow Mystery series
Nancy Atherton  - Aunt Dimity Mystery series
Marian Babson  - Brimful Coffers mystery series
Cynthia Baxter - Reigning Cats and Dogs Mystery series
M. C. Beaton - Hamish Macbeth Mystery series
Rita Mae Brown - Mrs. Murphy Mystery series
Dorothy Cannell  - Ellie Haskell Mystery series
Blaize Clement - Dixie Hemingway Mystery series
Susan Conant - Scratch the Surface
Diane M. Davidson - Goldy Culinary Mystery series
Carole N. Douglas - Midnight Louie Mystery series
Dorothy Gilman - Mrs. Pollifax Mystery series
Carolyn Hart  - Death on Demand Mystery series
Joan Hess - Arly Hanks Mystery series
Carl Hiaasen - Sick Puppy
Miranda James - Cat in the Stacks Mystery series
Sharyn McCrumb - Ballad series
Shirley R. Murphy - Joe Grey Mystery series
Spencer Quinn - Chet and Bernie Mystery series
Cat Crimes For the Holidays (short stories by various authors)

Happy Reading!


To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Best Seller Lists







New York Times 4/13/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. The King, by J. R. Ward
2. I’ve Got You Under My Skin, by Mary Higgins Clark
3. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
4. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
5. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
6. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
7. By Its Cover, by Donna Leon
8. Destroyer Angel, by Nevada Barr
9. Power Play, by Danielle Steel
10. Be Careful What You Wish For, by Jeffrey Archer
11. Warriors, by Ted Bell
12. Blossom Street Brides, by Debbie Macomber
13. The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty
14. Words of Radiance, by Brandon Sanderson
15. Frog Music, by Emma Donoghue

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Flash Boys, by Michael Lewis
2. Don’t Hurt People and Don’t Take Their Stuff, by Matt Kibbe
3. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington
4. 10% Happier, by Dan Harris
5. A Call to Action, by Jimmy Carter
6. The Women of Duck Commander, by Kay Robertson, et al.
7. Not Cool, by Greg Gutfeld
8. Uganda Be Kidding Me, by Chelsea Handler
9. Killing Jesus, by Bill O’Reilly
10. David and Goliath, by Malcolm Gladwell
11. John Wayne, by Scott Eyman
12. Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand
13. Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg
14. The Promise of a Pencil, by Adam Braun with Carlye Adler
15. Things That Matter, by Charles Krauthammer

Washington Post 4/13/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. I’ve Got You Under My Skin, by Mary Higgins Clark
2. The King, by J. R. Ward
3. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
4. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
5. By Its Cover, by Donna Leon
6. Power Play, by Danielle Steel
7. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
8. Blossom Street Brides, by Debbie Macomber
9. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
10. The Phoenix Project, by Gene Kim

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Flash Boys, by Michael Lewis
2. Success Through Stillness, by Russell Simmons, et al.
3. The Promise of a Pencil, by Adam Braun with Carlye Adler
4. Don’t Hurt People and Don’t Take Their Stuff, by Matt Kibbe
5. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington
6. Things a Little Bird Told Me, by Biz Stone
7. The Hungry Girl Diet, by Lisa Lillien
8. Strengths Finder 2.0, by Tom Rath
9. Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young
10. A Call to Action, by Jimmy Carter


To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

April 2014 Consumer Reports: Looking for a New Vehicle?




Every April issue of Consumer Reports magazine is devoted to automobiles, new and used.  The 2014 top picks include two Honda and two Subaru models, as well as models from Tesla, Toyota, Audi, BMW, Hyundai, and Chrysler.

This year's ratings section compares over 260 new vehicles, from subcompacts to SUVs.  The vehicles are rated on road test scores, fuel economy, reliability, and more.

The used cars section includes an article on reliable used cars for every budget, and an article with tips for used-car buying.

To go along with the vehicle ratings, this issue features an article on the top tires (in seven categories). One especially interesting article is on the feasibility of self-driving cars, and how the crash-avoidance systems in some of today's cars are just the beginning.

Each branch of the Fauquier County Library has the print issues of Consumer Reports from 2010 up to the current issue. The Find It Virginia databases have an index to the issues from February 1, 1976 to the current issue, and the full-text of the reviews from January 1, 1999 to June 1, 2009. You can access Find It Virginia from any library computer, or from home with your valid Fauquier County Public Library card.

Reference Staff @ Warrenton

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.




Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Best Seller Lists






New York Times 4/6/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
2. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
3. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
4. Blossom Street Brides, by Debbie Macomber
5. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
6. Power Play, by Danielle Steel
7. Be Careful What You Wish For, by Jeffrey Archer
8. Tempting Fate, by Jane Green
9. Stone Cold, by C. J. Box
10. Words of Radiance, by Brandon Sanderson
11. The Auschwitz Escape, by Joel C. Rosenberg
12. The Bootlegger, by Clive Cussler & Justin Scott
13. Raising Steam, by Terry Pratchett
14. The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty
15. Night Broken, by Patricia Briggs

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington
2. A Call to Action, by Jimmy Carter
3. Uganda Be Kidding Me, by Chelsea Handler
4. 10% Happier, by Dan Harris
5. Not Cool, by Greg Gutfeld
6. Killing Jesus, by Bill O’Reilly
7. David and Goliath, by Malcolm Gladwell
8. The Promise of a Pencil, by Adam Braun with Carlye Adler
9. Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand
10. Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg
11. Things That Matter, by Charles Krauthammer
12. The Future of the Mind, by Michio Kaku
13. The Story of the Jews, by Simon Schama
14. A Nice Little Place on the North Side, by George F. Will
15. How About Never – Is Never Good For You?, by Bob Mankoff

Washington Post 4/6/2014

Hardcover Fiction
1. NYPD Red 2, by James Patterson & Marshall Karp
2. Missing You, by Harlan Coben
3. Blossom Street Brides, by Debbie Macomber
4. Power Play, by Danielle Steel
5. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
6. The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd
7. The Bootlegger, by Clive Cussler & Justin Scott
8. Every Day is for the Thief, by Teju Cole
9. Be Careful What You Wish For, by Jeffrey Archer
10. Words of Radiance, by Brandon Sanderson

Hardcover Nonfiction
1. A Call to Action, by Jimmy Carter
2. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington
3. The Hungry Girl Diet, by Lisa Lillien
4. Strengths Finder 2.0, by Tom Rath
5. The Trident, by Jason Redman
6. Asia’s Cauldron, by Robert D. Kaplan
7. The Blood Sugar Solution, by Mark Hyman
8. Breakout, by Newt Gingrich
9. Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young
10. Look at More, by Andy Stefanovich

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

If You Like Orson Scott Card ...



The recent release of Ender’s Game, a movie adaptation of the first book in the Ender Wiggins series by Orson Scott Card, has sparked  new interest in the series. The first two books in the series (Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead) each won both the Hugo and Nebula awards. See Orson Scott Card's website for more information.

Andrew “Ender” Wiggins is a young boy who is sent to “battle school” to learn how to fight aliens, who invaded Earth in the past, using virtual war games. He faces many mental, physical and emotional challenges, both at home and at “battle school.”

The books may be read in either publication or chronological order. Here is a chronological list for reading the series in order with publication dates:

1. Ender's Game (1985)
2. Ender's Shadow (1999)
3. A War of Gifts (2007)
4. Shadow of the Hegemon (2000)
5. Shadow Puppets (2002)
6. Shadow of the Giant (2003)
7. Ender in Exile (2008)
8. Shadows in Flight (2012)
9. First Meetings (2002)
10. Speaker for the Dead (1986)
11. Xenocide (1991)
12. Children of the Mind (1996)

If you would like to read the prequels to Ender’s Game, here is a series called The First Formic Wars, also by Orson Scott Card:

1. Earth Unaware (2012)
2. Earth Afire (2013)
3. Earth Awakens (June 2014)

If you like Orson Scott Card’s books, you might like the following books and authors. Please note that some are considered crossover Young Adult / Adult novels:

M. T. Anderson – Feed
Isaac Asimov - Foundation Trilogy
Ray Bradbury - Fahrenheit 451
Terry Brooks - Shannara Trilogy
Ernest Cline – Ready Player One
Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games
James Dashner – The Maze Runner
Cory Doctorow – Little Brother
Tim Eldred – Grease Monkey
Sylvia Engdahl - Elana Series
Nancy Farmer – The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm
Joe Haldeman - Forever Series
Johan Harstad – 172 Hours on the Moon
Robert A. Heinlein – Starship Troopers
Robert A. Heinlein -  Have Space Suit – Will Travel
Frank Herbert - Dune Series
Robert Jordan - Wheel of Time Series
Conor Kostick – Epic Series
Lois Lowry – The Giver Quartet
John Marsden – Tomorrow, When the War Began
Larry Niven - Ringworld Series
John Scalzi – Old Man’s War
Dan Simmons - Hyperion Series
William Sleator – Interstellar Pig
Dom Testa – Galahad Series
David Weber – Honor Harrington Series
Scott Westerfeld – Uglies Trilogy
Richard Yancey – The 5th Wave
Timothy Zahn – Quadrail Series

Happy Reading!

To learn more about the Fauquier County Public Library's collection, events or programs, visit us on Facebook, Twitter or online.